© 2020 by Caroline Swicegood

 

Some things to know about me

I have 13 years of editing experience.

 

I started editing mostly by chance. I had a reputation as being good with words, so friends started asking me to look over their graduate school papers and dissertations. They were happy with my work and referred me to other grad students, and I started charging for my services. I went to graduate school myself to get an MFA in writing and then spent eight years teaching, while also editing book manuscripts, academic papers, and textbooks on the side. In 2017, I left teaching to be an editor full-time.

I work on a wide range of projects.

I've done everything from technical editing to helping write a new edition of an art history textbook. I regularly help first-time authors get their book manuscripts in shape to submit to agents or publishers. I have a deep understanding of what is needed for different areas of writing and can assure you that your final product meets industry standards.

I'm an expat.

Specifically, an American living in Germany. Before that, I lived in Istanbul, Turkey. And I travel a lot. This is relevant because it means that I work with a truly international client base, including many people for whom English is a second language. It has also given me a deeper appreciation for both language and grammar. I speak Italian and Turkish okay-ish, and German very poorly. I understand how hard finding the right words can be and I am patient and encouraging when helping clients shape their own words.